

January 14, 2025

For Immediate Release

Contact: Milo Maughan, secondary science education specialist 801-538-7808 · milo.maughan@schools.utah.gov

Six Utah Educators to Receive Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

SALT LAKE CITY – President Joe Biden has named three science teachers and three mathematics teachers from Utah to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the Nation's highest distinction for teaching in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. This award honors the vital role that America's teachers play in shaping the next generation of technical leaders, including scientists, engineers, explorers, and innovators. The Utah teachers receiving the the award were selected from past winners at the state level.

The announced Utah PAMEST awardees are:

- 2021 Mathematics Todd Vawdrey, West High School
- 2021 Science Matthew Woolley, Mountain Ridge Junior High School
- 2022 Mathematics Stacy Stoker, Red Cliffs Elementary School
- 2022 Science Ashley Hare, Edison Elementary School
- 2023 Mathematics Melissa Brown, Riverton High School
- 2023 Science Wesley Morgan, Springville High School

Awardees are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning, along with their ability to help students make progress in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science. In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the awards program is to showcase the highest standards of STEM teaching. Awards alternate between elementary (kindergarten – 6th grade) and secondary (7th – 12th grade) teachers each year.

Awardees receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States; a \$10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF); and a trip to Washington, D.C. The teachers attend

a series of recognition events, participate in professional development opportunities, and discuss how to improve STEM education with policy-makers.

Each year, PAEMST applications are reviewed at state and national levels by prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district level personnel, and classroom teachers. Nominees are then sent to The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) for final selection.

The Awards were established by Congress in 1983. The President may recognize up to 110 exemplary teachers each year. Since the program's inception, more than 5,500 teachers have received this honor.

www.schools.utah.gov