AGREEMENT FOR WAIVER OF UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

Piute County School District R277-419 4 Day School Week

This agreement is entered into by and between the Utah State Board of Education ("Board"), and Piute County School District ("PCSD"), a local education agency ("LEA").

RECITALS

- The Board has general supervision and control of Utah's public education system and has been granted the authority to make rules to execute its duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law;
- II. The Board has exercised this authority and adopted Utah Administrative Code, Title R277. Education;
- III. LEA is subject to the requirements of the U.A.C. R277. Education;
- IV. U.A.C. R277-121, allows an LEA to petition the Board for a waiver of requirements contained in an administrative rule adopted by the Board;
- V. U.A.C. R277-419-4 *Minimum School Days* requires an LEA hold school on at least 180 days for at least 990 hours per school year;
- VI. LEA has petitioned the Board for a waiver of the requirements of R277-419-4 to allow all schools in its district to hold school for less than 180 days to implement a 4-day school week schedule;
- VII. LEA submitted all necessary information called for under R277-121-2;
- VIII. The Board referred LEA's waiver request to its Law and Licensing Committee for review and recommendation;
- IX. The Law and Licensing Committee reviewed LEA's waiver request in an open meeting held Friday, March 10, 2023, and favorably referred the request to the full Board for action;
- X. The Board reviewed and discussed LEA's waiver request during its meeting on Thursday, April 6, 2023, and by motion, approved the waiver request by majority vote subject to the terms and conditions set forth below.

AGREEMENT

- Waiver and purpose. Piute County School District is exempted from the requirements
 of R277-419.4, specifically, the requirement that an LEA hold school for a minimum of
 180 days per school year is waived for the purpose of implementing a 4 day school
 week.
- 2. **Alternative or Amended Compliance.** During the term of this waiver, Piute County School District shall;
 - a. hold school for at least 990 instructional hours per school year consistent with R277-419 *Pupil Accounting*;

- b. Maintain or increase the level of student achievement at applicable schools; and
- c. Maintain or decrease absenteeism of students attending applicable schools.
- 3. Effective Dates. The effective date of this waiver shall be the 2023-2024 school year and continue until the end of the 2026-2027 school year, subject to the fulfillment of all of the terms and conditions found herein as well as compliance with all other applicable statutes and regulations. There will be no extension of this waiver except by the reapplication to the Board through the Board's waiver process in effect at the time of reapplication.
- 4. **Periodic Reports.** Piute County School District shall provide the Board or the Law and Licensing Committee reports as requested which may include:
 - a. Public input regarding the impact of the waiver on the school community (may include survey of school employees, parents, students, etc.);
 - Data evidencing student achievement has remained consistent or improved over the time period the waiver has been in effect (may include assessments, grades, attendance, graduation rates, etc.);
 - c. Evidence of compliance with alternative requirements (may include school calendar, activity calendar, course enrollment data, etc.);
 - d. Evidence of financial savings (if applicable);
 - e. Other data evidencing the impact of the waiver on the education system or environment.
- 5. **Amendment.** This waiver may not be amended except in writing signed by both parties and accompanied by such additional Board action as is necessary to approve any amendment.
- 6. Termination. This waiver may be terminated by the Board at any time, upon 30 days notice, if it finds that there has been any material misrepresentation of any fact(s) in the request for waiver or in the periodic reporting, or if the Board determined there are material deficiencies in student performance/achievement or unreasonable increases in costs to PCSD or its students not anticipated by either Party, or not represented to the Board by PCSD. PCSD may terminate this waiver at any time prior to its expiration upon providing written notice to the Board.

UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION	
	5/5/2023
JAMES MOSS	DATE
Chair, Utah State Board of Education	
PIUTE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT	
//	5/4/2023
JEREMY PEARSON	DATE
President, LEA Board of Education	