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Teacher Salary Supplement Program (TSSP) 
History 

Beginning in 2008: 
The Teacher Salary Supplement Restricted Account in the Uniform School Fund was created in the 2008 General 
Session to pay the costs associated with the Teacher Salary Supplement Program (TSSP). The State Division of Finance 
distributed funding from the account to teachers that qualified for the supplement. TSSP provided qualifying 
secondary education teachers of mathematics as well as specifically identified science areas for a $4,100 salary 
supplement. Educators working in either a public or charter school were eligible to receive the full supplement 
(bonus) if they were assigned full-time to teach one or more of the courses listed in statute and had a corresponding 
qualifying degree based on the statute. The Qualifying Educational Background requires educators to have a 
bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree in the content areas listed in statute to qualify for a supplement. Educators 
working less than a full-time assignment teaching in one of these courses could receive a partial salary adjustment 
based on the number of hours worked in the course. 

In addition to the $4,100 salary adjustment, the Legislature appropriated funding to cover the employer- paid benefit 
costs associated with retirement, worker's compensation, Social Security, and Medicare. Qualifying teachers that 
received the supplement were required to pay all personal payroll deductions as they did with their standard based 
salary. 

The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) certified the list of eligible educators and the amount of their salary 
supplement, the list was then provided to the State Division of Finance for payment from the Restricted Account. The 
Division of Finance electronically transferred funding to the school district or charter school at the end of each 
payment cycle. 

2015-2016: 
Starting FY 2015, USBE took over the administration of the program from the Utah State Department of Human 
Resource Management (DHRM). Additionally, the Utah Legislature added the subject area of Computer Sciences to the 
TSSP list of qualifying degree and subject areas. 

2016-2017: 
Starting in the 2016-17 program year, the USBE designed and launched the TSSP Service Site, allowing educators to 
apply electronically to the Board of Education for consideration for the salary supplement. With the launch of the new 
system, teachers apply once each program year and elect a payment cycle of either semester, trimester, or annual 
payment (to match the Local Education Agency’s [LEA] schedule) that are paid periodically throughout the program 
year. USBE determines if a teacher is eligible by verifying degree and course assignments based on data entered in 
CACTUS compliant with legislation. After verification by the LEA, the USBE certifies that the educator is eligible, and 
the bonus is funded through the Division of Finance by the electronic transfer of funds to the LEA at the end of each 
payment cycle for distribution through payroll. 

“The Legislature appropriates funds each year to the Teacher Salary Supplement program. The Utah Board of 
Education certifies the list of eligible teachers and the amount of their salary supplement. The Board makes 
payments by electronically transfers funding at the end of each payment cycle to school districts and charter 
schools.” 

The Utah Legislature also adopted an additional bonus program for educators in classroom assignments who hold a 
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification (NBPTS). This National Board funding has an 
additional bonus available to educators holding the certification who are working in a Title 1 school in a classroom 
assignment. 

Educators who received their initial NBPTS certification or renewed it after 2016 were also eligible for a reimbursement 
of the program fees. All NBPTS-related bonuses are paid at the end of the program year. 
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2017-2018: 
During the 2018 Legislative session, HB 233 was passed to include Special Education for TSSP. Effective July 1, 2018, 
educators who hold a current teaching license in Special Education, an appropriate Special Education endorsement(s), 
have a classroom assignment(s) in Special Education and who hold a degree with a major in Special Education qualify 
for the bonus program. 

2019-2020: 
Two significant changes to TSSP were adopted during the 2019 Legislative session that recognized educators teaching 
in Utah for 10 or more years and a restructure of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards certification 
process. 
HB236: This House Bill modified TSSP to allow educators who are teaching any of the qualified content areas to satisfy 
the degree requirement either by degree major or by a “qualifying teaching background” of 10 or more years in Utah 
schools. Current and historical assignments must be posted in CACTUS to qualify. 
SB208: This Senate Bill financially parted the TSSP funds from the funding for the NBPTS certification and fee pre-
payment program. Additionally, the legislature moved from a fee-reimbursement design to a program that will pre-
pay the National Board fees directly to the NBPTS organization on behalf of educators electing to earn their initial 
certification or for the renewal of an existing certification. The NBPTS reimbursement program ended in the 2019-20 
program year. 

2020-2021: 
During the 2020 Legislative session, SB 0021 was passed to remove language requiring a teacher to submit an annual 
application for TSSP. The amendments would have been effective July 1, 2020, however, due to the SARS-cov-2 
pandemic the creation and implementation of a one-time application was extended to the 2021-2022 Program Year. 
HB 0141 removed duplicate language in Utah Statute 53F-2-504. 

2021-2022: 
During the 2021 Legislative session, SB 154 was passed to include Deaf Education for TSSP. Effective July 1, 2021, 
educators who hold a current Professional Educator license in Deaf Education, have a classroom assignment(s) in 
Deaf Education, and hold a degree with a major in Deaf Education qualify for the bonus program. 

2022-2023: 
During the 2023 Legislative session, a couple of bills were introduced to change the TSSP bonus: one to add new 
eligible areas to the program, and the other to increase the base value of the TSSP award. 
HB 124: This House Bill would have added Speech-Language Pathology (SLP) and Audiology to TSSP. Unfortunately, it 
was defeated in the State Senate due to the fiscal note increase. 
SB 183: This Senate Bill changed the evaluation requirements for eligible educators. If an educator receives an 
unsatisfactory rating on one of the educator’s three most recent evaluations, they are ineligible for the TSSP bonus. 
In other words, an educator must receive a satisfactory rating on the three most recent evaluations at the time a 
TSSP application is being reviewed by their employing LEA to be eligible. The other change was to the base value, 
currently $4100, of the TSSP bonus award. It was increased by including the Weighted Pupil Unit (WPU) percentage 
into the funding formula starting in the 2023-2024 program year. 

2023-2024: 
During the 2024 Legislative session, a couple of bills were introduced that fundamentally changed the TSSP bonus: 
SB137: This Senate Bill renames the Teacher Salary Supplement Program (TSSP) to the Salary Supplement for Highly 
Needed Educators Program (SHiNE). 
SB173: This Senate Bill redesigns the existing TSSP to the SHiNE Program, which allows local education agencies 
(LEAs) to designate up to 5 high-need areas. LEAs will determine by policy their high-need areas, who is eligible, and 
the amount of the bonus. By spring 2025, an LEA shall create a policy describing the administration of the SHiNE 
Program, which they must update annually and provide notice of any changes to teachers within the LEA. There is 
one more year of the existing TSSP, then it will sunset July 1, 2025.  
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