R277-308 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on
December 6, 2018. R277-308 is published in the January 1, 2019 Utah State
Bulletin, subject to a 30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of
February 7, 2019.

R277. Education, Administration.
R277-308. New Educator Induction and Mentoring.
R277-308-1. Authority and Purpose.

(1) This rule is authorized by:

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and

supervision over public education in the Board;

(b) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make rules to execute

the Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law;

and

(c) Section 53E-6-201, which gives the Board power to issue licenses.

(2) The purpose of this rule is to establish requirements for induction of new
educators.

R277-308-2. Definitions.
(1) “LEA” includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah Schools for the Deaf
and the Blind.

(2) “Mentor” means an educator with a professional educator license who is

trained to advise, coach, consult, and guide the development of a new educator.

R277-308-3. LEA Induction Programs.
(1) An LEA shall provide an induction program for the LEA’s licensed

employees if:
(a) an educator holds an associate educator license; or

(b) an educator holds a professional educator license with less than three

years experience.

(2) An LEA shall provide an induction program for at least three years for

employees with an LEA-specific educator license.

(3) An induction program under this rule shall include, at a minimum:

(a) a documented professional learning plan, appropriate for each educator;

1



R277-308 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on
December 6, 2018. R277-308 is published in the January 1, 2019 Utah State
Bulletin, subject to a 30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of
February 7, 2019.

(b) LEA support in meeting the requirements of a professional license for an

individual who holds an associate license;

(c) mentor observation and feedback for each educator beginning early in the
program;

(d) principal observation and feedback for each educator as required by Rule
R277-533; and

(e) assistance in meeting the pedagogical requirements described in
Subsection R277-301-5(5).

(4) An induction plan under Subsection (1) shall provide a new educator with

a trained mentor educator with a professional educator license.

(5) A trained mentor educator under Subsection (3) shall assist the educator
to meet the Utah Effective Educator Standards established in Rule R277-530.

(6) A trained mentor educator may not have responsibility to evaluate a new

educator for whom the educator acts as mentor.

(7) An LEA and a Utah approved university-based education preparation

program may partner in implementing the induction program required by Subsection

().

(8) The Superintendent shall:

(a) develop a model induction program, including model competencies for

mentors;

(b) provide training for mentors based on the competencies developed in

accordance with Subsection (8)(a);

(c) provide training for principals to oversee and support mentor training; and

(d) facilitate the sharing of best practices between LEAs.

R277-308-4. Effective Date.
This rule will be effective beginning July 1, 2020.
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KEY:

Date of Enactment of Last Substantive Amendment: 2018

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: Art X Sec 3; 53E-3-401(4);
53E-6-201




