Definitions

The following is a list of definitions pertaining to licensing. If there is a definition not found on this list,
please contact Educator Licensing.

Active Educator
An individual who holds a current or expired Utah Educator License who
1) is currently employed by a Utah public school, accredited private school (K-12), or the Utah
State Board of Education (USBE), or
2) was employed by one of those entities in a role covered by the license for at least half of the
individual's license cycle.
The license cycle depends on the license level; Level 1 = 3 years; Level 2 =5 years; Level 3 = 7 years.

Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS)
Database used by the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) to house and administer the educator
credentials (licenses) in Utah. A CACTUS number designates an individual record in the database and is
also a credential (license) number. Each educator has access to this system to view their credential by
going to UEN to log in to their account. There is also an online Utah Educator Lookup Tool that anyone
can use to search a credential (license).

Canvas

Learning management system used by USBE and local education agencies (LEAs) throughout Utah. This
system is used to create and administer courses that educators may take statewide. For any questions
regarding a course, please contact the facilitator.

Inactive Educator
An individual who holds a current or expired Utah Educator License who
1) is not currently employed by a Utah public or accredited private school (K-12), or
2) was employed by such an entity for less than half of the individual’s license cycle.
The license cycle depends on the license level; Level 1 = 3 years; Level 2 =5 years; Level 3 = 7 years.

Level 1 License

A standard Level 1 license is a Utah professional educator license issued upon completion of an
approved preparation program, an alternative preparation program, or pursuant to an agreement under
the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Interstate
Contract, to candidates who have also met all ancillary requirements established by law or rule.

Level 2 License

A standard Level 2 license is a Utah professional educator license issued after satisfactory completion of
all requirements for a Level 1 license as well as the Entry Years Enhancement (E.Y.E.) requirements
established by law or rule relating to professional preparation or experience.

Level 3 License

A standard Level 3 license is a Utah professional educator license issued to an educator who holds a
current Utah Level 2 license and has also received, in the educator’s field of practice, certification from
the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), a doctorate from a regionally-
accredited institution, or a Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) from the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).
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Licensed Administrator

An individual who holds a current Utah Educator license with an Administrative/Supervisory license area
of concentration and is currently employed by a Utah local education agency (LEA) or an accredited
Private School in an administrative position, OR an individual that is currently licensed as an
administrator in another state that has reviewed the Utah license renewal rules (R277-500). Or, if the
renewing educator is the highest administrative authority in an LEA (superintendent or charter school
director), the president or chairperson of the local board of education.

License Cycle
The allowable period for counting professional learning points toward renewal. Points earned outside of
the license cycle are ineligible and cannot be counted toward renewing a license. Typically, an
educator’s license cycle will be the time between renewals always ending June 30" of the year the
license expires.
o Level 1*(including APT*): the renewal cycle is a three (3) year window from the date of the
previous renewal, or within the most recent three (3) years if the license is expired.
e Level 2: the renewal cycle is a five (5) year window from the date of the previous renewal, or
within the most recent five (5) years if the license is expired.
o Level 3: the renewal cycle is a seven (7) year window from the date of the previous renewal, or
within the most recent seven (7) years if the license is expired.

Local Education Agency (LEA)

Public school district or charter school in Utah; see Utah Code R277-100 (9)(a). It can also be used to
define a similar organization outside of Utah to help determine the category of a professional learning
activity being used to renew a Utah Educator License.

Massively Integrated Data Analytics System (MIDAS)

Professional learning system built by the Utah State Board of Education to help LEAs provide a simpler,
more cost-effective way to collect and track professional learning activities for educators. This system
replaced the OnTrack Professional Learning System in July 2017. Activities used to renew a Utah
Educator License do not need to be listed in this system to count for renewal.

Professional Learning

Learning for the purpose of earning or maintaining professional credentials, such as academic degrees
or professional licenses. This learning can occur through formal coursework, conferences, and informal
learning opportunities situated in practice.

Professional Learning Points

Professional learning points are a way of quantifying completed professional learning. Points for renewal
are awarded when learning opportunities are completed and documented on a transcript or certificate
of completion. In general, points may be awarded based on clock (seat) hours, re-licensure points, or
credit. Explanations of these values can be found under Renewal Categories.
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