
   

         

    

      

             

    

          

        

          

          

              

         

  

            

      

       

          

              

             

             

             

         

         

            

          

R277-702 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on February 6, 
2020. R277-702 is published in the March 1, 2020 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of April 7, 2020. 

R277. Education, Administration. 

R277-702. Procedures for the Utah High School Completion Diploma. 

R277-702-1. Authority and Purpose. 

(1) This rule is authorized by: 

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and supervision 

of public education in the Board; 

(b) Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(b), which directs the Board to adopt rules regarding 

access to programs, competency levels, and graduation requirements; and 

(c) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make rules to execute the 

Board's duties and responsibilities under the Utah constitution and state law. 

(2) The purpose of this rule is to describe the standards and procedures required for 

an individual to obtain a Utah High School Completion Diploma. 

R277-702-2. Definitions. 

(1) "High school equivalency exam" or "HSE exam" means a Board approved 

examination whose test modules are aligned with: 

(a) current high school core standards; and 

(b) [adult education] the [C]college and [C]career [R]readiness [S]standards for adult 

education. 

(2) "Out-of-school youth" means an individual 16 to 19 years of age whose high school 

cohort has not graduated and who is no longer enrolled in a K-12 program of instruction. 

(3) "Utah high school completion diploma" means a completion diploma issued by the 

Board and distributed by a Board-approved contractor, to an individual who has passed all 

subject modules of the HSE exam at a Utah HSE exam testing center. 

R277-702-3. Administrative Procedures and Standards for Testing and Certification. 

(1)(a) The Superintendent shall contract with a third party contractor in accordance 

with state procurement law to administer HSE exams in the state. 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53E/Chapter3/53E-3-S501.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53E/Chapter3/53E-3-S402.html
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(b) The Superintendent may contract with public non-profit institutions within the state 

to administer HSE exams and provide related testing services. 

(c) The Superintendent shall determine the number and location of the institutions 

designated as testing centers in a manner that ensures that the test is reasonably accessible 

to potential applicants. 

(d) The Superintendent shall develop requirements for HSE exam testing centers in 

conjunction with the contractor approved in accordance with Subsection (1)(a). 

(2) The Superintendent shall develop minimum scores required for passing an HSE 

exam in conjunction with a vendor chosen in accordance with Subsection (1)(a). 

(3) The Superintendent shall award a diploma to a candidate who receives a passing 

score on an HSE exam. 

R277-702-4. Eligibility for HSE Testing. 

(1) Any individual may take a Utah HSE exam regardless of: 

(a) race; 

(b) color; 

(c) national origin; 

(d) gender; 

(e) disability; or 

(f) state of residency. 

(2) A candidate for the HSE exam: 

(a) shall be at least 16 years of age; and 

(b) may not be enrolled in any Utah k-12 school. 

(3) A 16-year-old candidate shall submit a completed state of Utah HSE Candidate 

and Adult Education Eligibility Form [Exam Application for 16-18 Year Old Non-Graduates], 

which shall include: 

(a) verification in a manner approved by the Superintendent that the candidate is not 

enrolled in a school; 
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(b) verification that the candidate understands and accepts the consequences and 

educational choices associated with the candidate's withdrawal from a K-12 program of 

instruction, including the prohibition from returning to a K-12 program anywhere in Utah upon 

successful passing of an HSE exam; and 

(c) signedacknowledgment from the candidate's parent or guardian specificallystating 

that the candidate and parent or guardian: 

(i) understand and accept the consequencesand educational choices associated with 

the candidate's decision to withdraw from a K-12 program of instruction; and 

(ii) authorize the candidate to take an HSE exam; and 

(d) verification from a representative of a Utah state-sponsored adult education district 

program that the candidate demonstrates academic competencies to meet with success in 

passing the HSE exam. 

(4) A 16 year-old candidate may provide a marriage certificate in lieu of the 

requirement of Subsection (3)(c) if the candidate is married. 

(5) A 17 or 18 year-old candidate whose cohort has not graduated shall submit a state 

of Utah HSE Candidate and Adult Education EligibilityForm [exam Application for 16-18 Year 

Old Non-Graduates], which shall include: 

(a) verification in a manner approved by the Superintendent that the candidate is not 

enrolled in school; and 

(b) the signature of the candidate's parent or guardian authorizing the test. 

(6) A candidate may submit a marriage certificate in lieu of the requirement contained 

in Subsection (5)(b) if the candidate is married. 

(7)  An out-of-school youth of school age who has not successfully passed all HSE 

exam modules shall be allowed to return to a k-12 public school prior to the time his class 

graduates with the understanding and expectation that all necessary requirements for the 

traditional k-12 diploma shall be completed prior to issuance of a regular high school diploma. 

(8) An out-of-school youth of school age who has received a Utah high school 

completion diploma is not eligible to return to a k-12 public school unless it is required for 
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provision of a free appropriate public education under the Individuals with Disabilities 

Education Act, 20 U.S.C., Chapter 33. 

[(9) The Superintendent shall classify an out-of-school youth of school age who has 

successfully passed all HSE exam modules and received a Utah high school completion 

diploma as a graduate for k-12 graduation annual yearly progress outcomes. 

(10)  An individual who is required by an employer or higher education institution to 

provide academic competency and cannot offer proof of high school completion may, upon 

approval of the Superintendent, take an HSE exam. 

(11) An individual who has previously passed HSE exam modules but seeks higher 

HSE exam scores for specific post-secondary institution admission may seek permission to 

retake an HSE exam module from the Superintendent.] 

R277-702-5. Fees. 

(1) The Superintendent, with approval of the Board, shall adopt uniform fees for the 

Utah high school completion diploma and uniform forms, deadlines, and accounting 

procedures to administer this program for inclusion with the contract with the contractor 

identified in accordance with Subsection R277-702-3(1)(a). 

(2) An approved testing center may only collect a fee in accordance with the amounts 

and procedures approved pursuant to Subsection (1). 

R277-702-6. Official Transcripts. 

(1) The Board shall accept HSE exam scores when an original score is reported by: 

(a) a Board-approved HSE exam testing center; 

(b) the transcript service of the Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Educational 

Support; 

(c) a Veterans Administration hospital or center; or 

(d) a contractor selected by the Superintendent in accordance with Subsection R277-

702-3(1)(a) or the contractor's authorized agent. 
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(2) The Superintendent shall include a candidate's HSEexam result on thecandidate's

official transcript. 

R277-702-7. Adult High School Outcomes. 

(1) A local board of education may adopt standards and procedures for awarding up

to five units of credit on the basis of test results which may be applied toward an adult 

education secondary diploma only if the student was enrolled in an adult education program 

prior to July 1, 2009 and an approved HSE exam was transcripted prior to July 1, 2009. 

(2) An individual who took and passed an approved HSE exam prior to January 1,

2002 may enroll in an adult education program now and in the future to obtain an adult 

education secondary diploma upon completion of graduation requirements as defined inRule 

277-733, but may not apply for a previously issued HSE exam certificate to be converted to

a Utah high school completion diploma.

(3) An individual who took and passed an approved HSE exam in the state of Utah

between the dates of January 1, 2002 and June 30, 2009 may apply for a Utah high school 

completion diploma to replace the originally issued HSE exam certificate issued by the Board 

or they may enroll in an adult education program to complete the necessary requirements for 

an adult education secondary diploma. 

R277-702-8. HSE Exam Security. 

(1) The following individuals may have access to the HSE exam:

(a) Board staff approved by the Superintendent;

(b) Authorized test examiners;

(c) A contractor selectedpursuant toSubsection R277-702-3(1)(a)and the contractor's

agents; 

(d) Approved exam candidates during exam administration; or

(e) An individual granted access in writing by the Superintendent.



              

           

  

     

             

  

              

 

          

            

 

            

        

      

         

         

R277-702 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on February 6, 
2020. R277-702 is published in the March 1, 2020 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of April 7, 2020.

(2) A test facilitator shall administer an HSE exam in strict accordance with procedures

and guidelines specified by the Superintendent and the contractor approved in accordance 

with Subsection R277-702-3(1)(a). 

(3) School staff members may not:

(a) provide a student directly or indirectly with specific questions or answers from any

official HSE exam; 

(b) allow a student access to any testing material, in any form, prior to test

administration; or 

(c) knowingly and intentionally do anything that would inappropriately affect the

security, validity, or reliability of an exam score of any individual student or group taking an 

HSE exam. 

(4) A licensed educator who intentionally violates this Section R277-702-8 may be

subject to disciplinary action under Section 53E-6-604 and R277-515. 

KEY: adult education, educational testing, student competency 

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: March 14, 2017 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: Art X Sec 3; 53E-3-501(1)(b); 53E-3-

401 

ADA Compliant: February 7, 2020

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53E/Chapter6/53E-6-S603.html

