
 

 

 

    

 

R277-472 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on November 7, 
2019. R277-472 is published in the December 1, 2019 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a 
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of January 7, 2020. 

R277. Education, Administration. 

R277-472. Charter School Student Enrollment and Transfers and School District 

Capacity Information. 

R277-472-1. Authority and Purpose. 

[A](1). This rule is authorized [under] by:

(a) Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 

supervision over public education in the Board[,];

(b) Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make rules to execute the 

Board’s duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and state law; and 

(c) Subsection 53G-6-503(2), which directs the Board to make rules for a student[s] 

transferring between a charter school[s] and the student’s boundary school within the 

student’s district [schools]of residence and enrolling and withdrawing from charter schools 

[and Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with 

its responsibilities]. 

[B.](2) The purpose of this rule is to:

(a) provide procedures for a student[s] transferring between [district public schools 

and ]a charter school[s] and the student’s boundary school within the student’s district of 

residence; [to] 

(b) define capacity in district [public] schools to allow for transfers into district schools 

from charter schools; and [to] 

(c) require LEAs to provide notice to parents and students of schools that have 

space available. 

R277-472-2. Definitions. 

[A. "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education.] 

[B.](1)(a) "Below capacity” [at the elementary and secondary level" making the grade 

level available for transfer students from charter schools outside of the window provided 

for in Subsection 53G-6-503(3) is established if] means the grade level or program is less 

than 100 percent of the district, school, or grade level average. 

1 



 

 

 

 

 

  

 

R277-472 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on November 7, 
2019. R277-472 is published in the December 1, 2019 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a 
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of January 7, 2020. 

([1]b) A special program is "below capacity" or available for transfer students from 

charter schools if the number of assigned students is less than the designated number of 

students determined by [valid, research-based, or federally established standards] the 

school district. 

([2]c) An entire elementary or secondary school is "below capacity" if the district 

determines that the average class size, using calculations of classes and courses in this 

Rule R277-472[-3], is less than 100 percent of the district elementary or secondary average 

class size. 

[C.](2) "Elementary [(K-6)] class size" means the number of students with a primary 

assignment to a specific teacher. 

([1]a) An extended day class in which a portion of the class arrives early and the 

other portion stays late shall be counted as one class. 

([2]b) “Elementary class size” shall include all special education students who 

participate in all or part of the school day excluding those students assigned to 

[self-contained special education classes] a special class. 

(3) “Full time equivalent” or “FTE” means the ratio of the contract time worked by an 

educator compared to the LEA’s definition of contract time worked by a full-time employee 

in the same position. 

[D.](4) "Secondary [(7-12)] class size" means the secondary school’s calculation for 

each language arts, mathematics, and science course that is typically taught multiple times 

in the school day, such as 8th grade English, [Algebra] Secondary Math 1, or Earth 

Systems. 

(5)(a) “Special class” means a placement where a student is placed in a classroom 

and receives specialized instruction and related services, if required, with other students 

with disabilities. 

(b) “Special class” includes students who receive special education and related 

services outside the regular general education classroom for more than 60% of the school 

day. 
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R277-472-3. Elementary Class Size Calculations. 

[A.](1) [Elementary class size:] Each school district, [(]or school as determined by 

the school district[)], shall calculate an average elementary class size for each grade level. 

(2) [Schools] A school shall [derive this calculation] calculate average elementary 

class size by [from] dividing the total number of students in a given grade [divided] by the 

number of full time licensed teachers assigned to that grade. 

([1]3) [Schools shall] A school may not count students assigned to multiple grade 

level classes, nor [and their]the school’s respectively assigned teachers[)], in determining 

average elementary class size for a grade level. 

([2]4) [Schools] A school shall calculate elementary classes that group students in 

programs other than by grade level, such as gifted and talented, or [English Learner] 

programs for students learning English, as a class for determining average elementary 

class size if students participate for the entire instructional day. 

([a]5) If a school[s] counts students that participate in special programs for part of 

the school day for determining average elementary class size, the school[s] shall count the 

students as part of their age-appropriate grade level, [(]together with respective teachers[)], 

for purposes of [this]the calculation. 

([b]6) If multiple classes of special programs exist, [(including self-contained special 

education classes)], a school shall determine an average elementary class size for special 

programs consistent with state, federal and program standards. 

[B.](7) [Elementary school size:]  Each school district [(]or school[)] shall calculate 

a school-wide average class size by dividing the total full-time teachers assigned to direct 

teaching situations by the total number of students receiving instruction. 

([1]8) [Schools shall] A school may not include [self-contained special education 

students and teachers] a student or teacher in a special class in [this calculation] 

calculating school-wide average class size[.], but 

[(2) Schools] shall include all other special education students and teachers. 

R277-472-4. Secondary Class Size Calculations. 
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[C.](1) [Secondary average class size:] Each school district, [(]or secondary school 

as determined by the district[)], shall calculate an average secondary class size for each 

language arts, mathematics and science course that is taught multiple times during a 

typical school day by dividing the total number of full time teachers assigned to direct 

teaching situations by the total number of students enrolled. 

([1]2) [Schools shall] A school may not include [self-contained special education 

students and teachers in this calculation] a student or teacher in a special class when 

calculating average secondary class size, but[.] [(2) Schools] shall include all other special 

education students[, other than full-time self-contained students,] in the calculation. 

[D.](3) [District average: Each]A school district shall calculate the district-wide 

average class size for: 

(a) each grade level[,];

(b) each elementary program that enrolls students across grade levels[,]; and [for] 

(c) each language arts, mathematics, and science course. 

([1]4) A [S]school district[s] shall [derive the calculation] calculate district-wide 

average class size by dividing the total number of [full time teachers (]FTEs[)] assigned to 

direct teaching situations by the total number of fully enrolled students. 

([2]5) [School districts] A school district shall derive all calculations required by this 

rule using October 1 enrollment and employment data. 

[E.](6)(a) In a school district with only one elementary or secondary school, or only 

one class of any subject or grade level, the school district[s] may calculate the average 

class size for an entire school or the entire school district by averaging all the classes in the 

school or the school district. 

(b) The school district may then determine that any class size less than the school 

district or school average class size is below capacity. 

R277-472-[4]5. School District School Capacity Information. 

[A.](1) [School districts] A school district shall provide and post the following 

information to facilitate transfer of students on school district or school websites: 

4 



 

 

  

 

R277-472 received final approval by the Utah State Board of Education on November 7, 
2019. R277-472 is published in the December 1, 2019 Utah State Bulletin, subject to a 
30-day comment period, with a first possible effective date of January 7, 2020. 

([1]a) [E]elementary schools within the school district that are below capacity and 

available for transfer students; 

([2]b) [G]grade levels and special programs within elementary schools that are 

below capacity and available for transfer students; 

([3]c) [S]secondary schools that are below capacity and available for transfer 

students based on calculated capacity of language arts, science and mathematics; and 

([4]d) [S]special programs within secondary schools that are below capacity and 

available for transfer students. 

[B.](2) Below capacity standards for individual schools, grade levels, courses or 

programs do not apply if a school has documentation that the school community council 

in a public meeting has designated more than one-half of a school's school LAND trust 

annual allotment to reduce class size in a specific school, grade level, program or course. 

R277-472-[5]6. [Application Procedures for Students Entering and Exiting Charter 

Schools.] Charter School Website Requirements. 

[A. Each charter school shall post on its website information and procedures 

required under Subsection 53G-6-503(2). 

B. Each charter school shall develop and post admissions procedures for the charter 

school including: 

(1) Lottery dates and procedures; 

(2) Admission forms; 

(3) School calendar; 

(4) Non-discrimination assurances; 

(5) A clear explanation, including timelines required in the law and provided in 

individual charter school policies, of student transfer procedures from a charter school to 

another charter school or to a district school; 

(6) A readily accessible transfer form; and] 

(1) Each charter school shall post on its website: 

(a) admission forms; 
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(b) student transfer forms;

([7]c) forms for [A]assurance and parent signature that a student has been admitted 

to only one public school[.]; and 

(d) all information required by Section R277-551-5.

R277-472-[6]7. Enrollment of Transferring Charter School Students in District 

Schools. 

[A.](1) If a charter school student who is a resident of a school district submits 

required enrollment information for the upcoming school year before June 30, [A]the 

school district shall enroll [as soon as possible, but no later than] the student [two weeks 

after specific formal parental request, a student who is a resident of a school district, who 

desires to transfer from a charter school to the resident school after June 30 and who 

submits enrollment information consistent with all school district students in a district school 

that is below capacity] in the student’s boundary school for the upcoming school year. 

(2) Notwithstanding Subsection (1), a school district shall enroll a resident student

leaving a charter school, which has been closed, in the student’s boundary school. 

[B.](3) [Schools] A district may limit resident students who are transferring from a 

charter school to a district school who submit required enrollment information after June 

30 for the upcoming school year to schools, grade levels, programs and courses that have 

space available or are below capacity at the district schools. 

[C.](4) A school district [shall] may not require enrollment procedures or forms from 

students moving from a charter school to a district school that differ in any way from 

enrollment procedures[/] or forms required for district students if the charter school 

students are leaving a charter school after the final grade level offered by the charter 

school. 

[D. Parents/Students who are enrolled at charter schools and are seeking enrollment 

at district schools should check with the school district office (or school principal if 

designated by the school district) for official current capacity information about schools, 

grade levels, programs or courses before leaving a charter school and forfeiting a charter 
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school enrollment right.] 

[E.](5) If a school changes the location of services for a student with disabilities, the 

new location may only be considered a change of placement as determined by the 

student’s IEP and consistent with the [Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (]IDEA[), 

20 U.S.C. 1400, Part B]. 

[F. Consistent with Subsection 53G-8-205(3), schools may deny enrollment to 

students in a public school if they have been expelled from another public school.] 

[G.](6) A [Schools] school may deny a student[s’] enrollment in a public school if 

the[y] student leaves a public school with disciplinary procedures pending at the previous 

[Utah] public school until previous allegations have been resolved. 

[H.](6) A [Charter schools and district schools] charter school and district school shall 

notify each other of student enrollment consistent with Subsection 53G-6-503(4). 

KEY: charter schools, students, transfers 

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: August 7, 2014 

Notice of Continuation: June 10, 2014 

Authorizing, and Implemented, or Interpreted Law: Art X, Sec 3; 53G-6-503(2); 

53E-3-401(4) 
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