This page provides step by step instructions using the Comprehensive Administration of Credentials for Teachers in Utah Schools (CACTUS) database. Please check the Frequently Asked Questions for additional clarification.
Most licensing processes require you to complete this online review of the ethical rules for educators.
You will need at least 30 minutes of uninterrupted time to finish the 25 multiple choice questions. If you do not answer a question correctly, you will be guided to the correct answer. You will receive an email notice that you have successfully completed it. Notice of completion will automatically be sent to the Utah State Board of Education.
Please note, you may need to change your name on your Utah Education Network (UEN) my.uen.org account to be able to enter your CACTUS record. The security features on the system require that the name on your UEN account exactly match the name posted in CACTUS.
Please note, expired Utah Educator Licenses are not available through this process.
An e-mail will be sent within 24 hours to the address on record in CACTUS from firstname.lastname@example.org with a PDF copy of your license attached. Please check your junk e-mail or spam.
You may request a degree to be posted in your CACTUS record by following the instructions on the Posting of Degree on CACTUS form.
For instructions on how to submit transcripts to Utah State Board of Education, go to the Transcript Submission Policy tab.
To record OOS experience to your CACTUS record, please mail the following original documents to Utah State Board of Education:
Transcripts submitted with an application to the Utah State Board of Education must be original, which can be paper or electronic.
Original (paper) Transcripts: "Sealed" transcripts in the university envelope are not required, but the documents must be original on the college/university "scrip-safe" paper. Photocopies or transcripts you have electronically received and printed will not be accepted. Send transcripts with the completed application to:
Utah State Board of Education Licensing
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4200
Electronic Transcripts: Utah State Board of Education accepts electronic transcripts as long as those are submitted directly from the college/university “Clearinghouse” (transcript service) to email@example.com. Transcripts should be e-mailed before you submit your application, and your application should indicate in which method the transcripts were submitted and from which college/university. If your college/university is not set up to send transcripts through a clearinghouse you will need to mail an original paper transcript with your application packet to Utah State Board of Education.
You will be able to change your mailing address, phone number, and e-mail.
Documentation is required to correct information in CACTUS. Please follow the instructions to provide Educator Licensing with the appropriate documents.
Background Checks and Fingerprint requests initiated through the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) website that were started after January 1, 2020 will still be honored through December 31, 2020. The USBE is not currently enforcing the 60-day submission requirements due to delays caused by COVID-19 safety policies. Please complete the fingerprinting steps as quickly as possible.
Utah Law (53A-1a-512.5) requires that each applicant for a Utah Educator License must satisfactorily complete a background fingerprint check. A Utah State Board of Education Background Fingerprint Check initiated after July 1, 2015 are continuously monitored. Educators who maintain a current license once completing a background fingerprint check after July 1, 2015, will not need to renew their background fingerprint check again through the online process. To complete the background fingerprint check, an applicant must submit fingerprints for review by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
If you live in Utah, you are required to complete a background check, including a fingerprinting via LiveScan. To start the process go to the Utah State Board of Education's Online License System, select Background Check and follow the prompts. You will receive an e-mail within 24 hours with your authorization form and a link to a list of LiveScan sites. Please also check your junk mailbox or spam for an email from firstname.lastname@example.org. The fingerprinting portion must be completed within 60 days of beginning the online process. You may be charged a fee at the LiveScan site. Average clearance time from the date fingerprinting is processed is approximately 20-25 business days.
If you live outside of Utah, you are required to complete a background check, including fingerprinting with fingerprint cards. To start the process, go to Utah State Board of Education's Online License System, select Background Check and follow the prompts. When prompted to choose a fingerprint method, choose Card Submission. You will receive a packet in the mail with instructions to complete the packet. The fingerprinting portion must be completed within 60 days of beginning the online process. Average clearance time from the date fingerprint cards are received by Utah State Board of Education is approximately 15 weeks.
UPPAC is the arm of the Utah State Board of Education charged with promoting and maintaining the high degree of professional ethics and practice required in the education profession. Please contact UPPAC at (801) 538-7745, for questions and concerns about documents and procedures to clear background checks with issues.
To view your CACTUS record, which is essentially your Utah Educator License, you will need to be able to log in to your Utah Education Network (UEN) account.
If you have trouble entering CACTUS, please verify that your birth date, last four digits of your social security number, and first and last names are the same in UEN and CACTUS. If this information needs to be corrected in CACTUS, go to the "Update/Correct Information in CACTUS" tab for instructions.
If your name needs to be corrected in UEN, you can do it by clicking the "Edit Name and Login" link under "UEN Tools". When it is corrected, log out of UEN and then back in to apply the change.
There are three options to obtain verification of your Utah Educator License, subject to the license status:
Phone: (801) 538-7741 | E-mail