

Meeting Minutes Utah State Board of Education

The Utah State Board of Education held a state board meeting on December 4, 2024. As Utah Code 52-4 authorized, this meeting was held at 250 E 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. Chair Moss presided. The meeting was streamed live to the public.

Members Present

Chair James Moss Vice Chair Molly Hart Vice Chair Jennie Earl Member Joseph Kerry Member Randy Boothe Member Carol Lear Member-Elect Amanda Bollinger Member Cindy Davis Member Sarah Reale Member LeAnn Wood Member Matt Hymas Member Christina Boggess Member-Elect Cole Kelley Member-Elect Rod Hall

Members Online

Member Natalie Cline Member Kristan Norton Member Emily Green Member-Elect Joann Brinton

Member Absent

Member Brent Strate

Executive Staff Present Sydnee Dickson, Superintendent **Minutes were taken by:** Cybil Prideaux, Executive Assistant

Others Present

 ${\it Kelsey\,James,\,Michelle\,Beus,\,Jerry\,Record,\,Adam\,Prows,\,and\,Ben\,Rasmussen.}$

Opening Business

Chair Moss called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

Board Officer Elections Procedures

Per Board Policy 2002: Board Officer Elections Procedures

The Board will vote to establish the number of vice chairs to be elected to serve on the Executive Committee.

<u>Utah Code 53E-3-201</u>

The state board shall elect from its members a chair, and at least one vice chair, but no more than three vice chairs every other year at a meeting held any time between November 15 and January 15.

MOTION was made by Member Earl and seconded by Member Kerry that the Board elects two vice chairs to serve on the executive committee.

The motion carried.

In favor: Members Reale, Boothe, Boggess, Bollinger, Earl, Green, Hart, Kerry, Wood, Hymas, Lear, Brinton, Kelley, Hall.

Opposed: Member Davis.

Board Chair

Member Kerry withdrew his interest in running for the board chair. Member Matt Hymas was elected as the 2025 Board Chair.

First Vice Chair

Members Hart and Kerry were interested in running for the first vice chair position.

The voting board members ranked the candidates according to the member's preference.

- Molly Hart received nine votes.
- Joseph Kerry received six votes.

Member Molly Hart was elected to the first vice chair position.

Second Vice Chair

Members Wood, Earl, and Boggess shared an interest in running for the second vice chair position.

The voting board members ranked the candidates according to the member's preferences.

First Round

- Jennie Earl received three votes.
- Christina Boggess received six votes.
- LeAnn Wood received six votes.

Second Round

- Christina Boggess received six votes.
- LeAnn Wood received nine votes.

Member LeAnn Wood was elected to the second vice chair position.

Adjournment

MOTION TO ADJOURN was made by Member Kerry and seconded.

The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 6:20 PM.

The executive assistant took the meeting minutes. The minutes were approved on January 9, 2025.