# UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

June 23, 2016

A special meeting of the Utah State Board of Education was held June 23, 2016 at the Utah State Board of Education building, 250 East 500 South, Salt Lake City, Utah. Chair David Crandall presided.

### **Board Members Present:**

Chair David L. Crandall 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair David L. Thomas 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair Jennifer A. Johnson (by phone) Member Dixie L. Allen Member Laura Belnap Member Leslie B. Castle Member Barbara Corry Member Brittney Cummins Member Linda B. Hansen Member Mark Huntsman Member Stan Lockhart Member Jefferson Moss Member Terryl Warner Member Joel Wright (by phone)

### **Board Members Excused:**

Member Spencer F. Stokes

### **Others Present:**

David Lund, Attorney General's Office; Helen Maw, State Division of Risk Management; Dr. Jackie Thompson, Davis School District; Clayton Chun; Jenny Hor, Rozanna Benally-Sagg, Yajenetsy Ruano—Utah Office of Multicultural Affairs; Joan and Douglas Palmer; Cheryl Chun; Jan Ferré, Legislative Coalition of People with Disabilities; Chas DeWitt, Alpine School District; Laura Grzymkowski; Canyons School District; Jay Blain, Utah Education Association; W. Barney Nye, Utah Valley University; Belinda Talenia, Mountain View High School; Joylin Lincoln; David Parker; Luis Alonzo Cueva, Alpine School District; David Jones, Utah Attorney General's Office.

Vice Chair David Thomas called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

### **Executive Session**

MOTION was made by Member Allen and seconded by Member Huntsman that the

Board go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing pending or reasonably imminent litigation.

Upon voice vote of the members present, the Board went into Executive Session at 3:06 p.m.

Those present in Executive Session included Members Allen, Belnap, Castle, Corry, Crandall, Cummins, Hansen, Huntsman, Johnson (by phone), Lockhart, Thomas, and Warner; and Lorraine Austin, Emilie Wheeler, David Lund, Helen Maw, and David Jones.

**MOTION** was made by Member Corry and seconded by Member Huntsman that the Board come out of Executive Session.

Motion carried. The Board reconvened in open session at 4:03 p.m.

#### **Finalist Interviews for State Superintendent of Public Instruction**

Vice Chair Thomas read instructions from Human Resources regarding the interviews. It was noted that each candidate will be given the interview questions thirty minutes prior to the interview.

Finalists Sydnee Dickson and Taran Chun were interviewed separately in open meeting, responding to six interview questions as outlined and additional follow up questions.

#### **Executive Session**

Motion was made by Member Castle and seconded by Member Corry that the Board go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing the character, professional competence and physical or mental health of individuals.

Upon voice vote of the members present, the Board went into Executive Session at 6:00 p.m.

Those present in Executive Session included Members Belnap, Castle, Corry, Crandall, Cummins, Hansen, Huntsman, Lockhart, Moss, Thomas, Warner; and Lorraine Austin and Emilie Wheeler.

Motion was made by Member Belnap and seconded by Member Cummins that the Board come out of Executive Session.

Motion carried. The Board reconvened in open session at 8:15 p.m.

-2-

# State Superintendent Appointment

**MOTION** was made by Vice Chair Thomas and seconded by Member Huntsman that the Board appoint Dr. Sydnee Dickson as the Utah State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Motion carried unanimously. Members Allen, Johnson, and Wright absent.

Dr. Dickson was invited to comment. She expressed that she is very humbled to serve alongside the Board to create a situation for every student to have the possibility for a future in this state. She indicated it is challenging, overwhelming, and exciting, and thanked the Board for their confidence in her and their support.

# Adjournment

**MOTION** was made by Member Huntsman and seconded by Vice Chair Thomas that the meeting adjourn.

Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 8:18 p.m.

Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary Minutes approved August 12, 2016