UTAH STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

July 17, 2013

A meeting of the Utah State Board of Education was held on Wednesday, July 17, 2013 at the Utah State Office of Education, 250 East 500 South, Salt Lake City, Utah. Chair Debra G. Roberts conducted.

Board Members present:

Chair Debra G. Roberts
Vice Chair David L. Crandall
Member Dixie L. Allen
Member Keith M. Buswell
Member Kim R. Burningham
Member Leslie B. Castle
Member Barbara W. Corry
Member Heather Groom

Member Marlin Jensen (non-voting)
Member Michael Jensen
Member Jennifer A. Johnson
Member Jefferson Moss
Member C. Mark Openshaw
Member Tami W. Pyfer
Member R. Dean Rowley (non-voting)

Board Members excused:

Member Teresa L. Theurer (non-voting)
Member Laura Belnap (non-voting)
Member James V. (Jim) Olsen (non-voting)
Member Isaiah Spencer (non-voting)
Member David L. Thomas

Executive staff present:

Martell Menlove, State Supt. Brenda Hales, Deputy Supt. Judy Park, Associate Supt. Bruce Williams, Associate Supt. Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary

Call to Order:

Chair Debra Roberts called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

Smart School Technology Program

During the 2013 Legislative Session, S.B. 284 Smart School Technology Act was passed (UCA 53A-1-709 Smart School Technology Program). The law amended a three-year pilot

project known as the Smart School Technology Program to encourage the deployment of whole-school technology in public schools. In its June 7, 2013 meeting, the State Board of Education gave preliminary approval to a list of schools for participation in the program.

Deputy Superintendent Brenda Hales distributed and reviewed updated information on the program. She explained that since the June meeting, iSchool Campus has been named the vendor for the program, through the state RFP process. The RFP committee has met since that time and contacted seven of the schools given preliminary approval to determine if they still desired to participate. There has not been guarantee of a match from the other schools given preliminary approval. Two of the schools contacted—Wasatch Peaks Academy and Beehive Academy—declined to participate.

Motion was made by Member Dixie Allen and seconded by Member Kim Burningham that the Board give final approval for Utah Career Path High, Helper Jr. High, Myton Elementary, Rocky Mountain Middle School, and Freedom Academy to participate in the Smart School Technology Program.

Motion carried.

Superintendent Hales reported that 1,385 seats are still available, and a second application has been sent to local education agencies (LEAs). Additional schools desiring to participate will be presented to the Board for approval in its August meeting.

[For more details, see General Exhibit No. 12439.]

ESEA Reauthorization Guidelines

The federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), reauthorized more than ten years ago as the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB), expired more than four years ago. There are now multiple ESEA reauthorization bills currently under consideration by Congress.

State Superintendent Martell Menlove has proposed some basic concepts and principles for the Board to consider that would need to be present in any reauthorization legislation in order to have the Board's support. He reviewed with the Board a draft letter to Utah's congressional delegation with those principles included.

Motion was made by Member Dixie Allen and seconded by Member Jennifer Johnson

that the Board approve the letter with the following changes:

- Section 2a reword for clarity and include some specificity about the amount of federal funding Utah receives.
- Section 2c change the word "criticized" to "considered."

Motion carried unanimously. [For more details, see General Exhibit No. 12440.]

Board Employee Evaluation Process

Chair Debra Roberts distributed and reviewed proposed changes to the Board Bylaws regarding employee evaluations.

Motion was made by Member Jennifer Johnson and seconded by Member Jefferson Moss that Section V-B-9 of the Bylaws under *Duties of the Chair* be amended as proposed.

Motion carried.

Motion was made by Member Jennifer Johnson and seconded by Member Tami Pyfer that the section on Evaluation of Board Employees, A-D be approved as proposed. The section would be part of a Bylaws Policies and Procedures document.

Member Johnson moved to amend her motion as follows:

- Change the last line of #A to read: "... a 360 comprehensive, multi-stakeholder evaluation of the Superintendent will be conducted."
- Insert the word "USBE" before "auditor" in item C.
- Delete the word, "renewed," from item A-2-e.
- Delete the word, "better" from item A-2-f.

Amendment to the motion carried.

Motion carried.

Motion was made by Member Jennifer Johnson and seconded by Member Tami Pyfer that the Bylaws Section IX-H-1a under *Appointments* be amended by adding numbers 3, 4 and 5 to Section H-1a as proposed, renumbering, and striking Section H-1d.

Amendment to the motion was made by Member Keith Buswell and seconded by Member Jennifer Johnson that an additional number H-1a-9 be added with the wording: "Assists and provides support to individual board members in board-related assignments."

Amendment to the motion carried.

Motion carried.

Without objection, Chair Roberts directed that Section IX-H-2 be changed to "USBE auditor" to make it consistent with the changes previously made.

[For more details, see General Exhibit No. 12441.]

State Superintendent Annual Evaluation Process

Superintendent Menlove shared potential personal goals with the Board that could be used for an evaluation. He was recognized and thanked for his efforts in developing the goals.

Chair Roberts reviewed a *State Superintendent Annual Evaluation Process* document, suggesting that the process be approved in this meeting, with specific goals approved at a later time.

Motion was made by Member Keith Buswell and seconded by Member Dixie Allen that the Board accept the format outlined in the *State Superintendent Annual Evaluation Process* and further refine the process as needed.

Motion carried. [For more details, see General Exhibit No. 12442.]

Executive Session

Motion was made by Member Dixie Allen and seconded by Member Michael Jensen that the Board move into Executive session for the purpose of the discussing the character, competence and physical or mental health of individuals.

A voice vote was taken, and upon unanimous consent of the present, the Board moved into Executive Session at 2:25 p.m.

Those present in Executive Session included Board members Roberts, Crandall, Allen, Buswell, Burningham, Castle, Corry, Groom, Michael Jensen, Johnson, Moss, Openshaw, Pyfer, Rowley, and H.R. Director David Rodemack. Superintendent Martell Menlove, Board Secretary Lorraine Austin, and Internal Auditor Natalie Grange were also present for portions of the meeting.

Motion was made by Member Keith Buswell and seconded by Member Jennifer Johnson

that the Board come out of Executive Session. Motion carried.

The Board reconvened into open meeting at 4:40 p.m.

Adjournment

Motion was made by Member Barbara Corry and seconded by Member Keith Buswell that the Board meeting adjourn, and that the Instruction, Assessment and Technology meeting convene for the purpose of the discussing the Board Bylaws.

-19179-

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 4:42 p.m.

Lorraine Austin, Board Secretary
Minutes approved August 2, 2013