Data Quality and Pupil Accounting
1. Driver Education
2. Educator Data and Statistics
3. Funding for Educators
5. Necessarily Existent Small Schools
How is my LEA’s Driver’s Education allotment calculated?
- LEAs are reimbursed no more than $100 per student who completes driver’s ed. LEAs are reimbursed $70 per student who has only completed the classroom portion of the course and $30 per student who has only completed the behind-the-wheel and observation portion of the course.
Can my LEA be reimbursed for the costs of student fees waived for Driver Education?
- Only if the amount of money in the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account in the Uniform School Fund at the end of any school year is more than the total reimburseDriver ment costs listed above.
TOP | NEXT
Where can I find teacher salary data, the number of educators in Utah, and Student/Teacher ratios?
Does the USOE collect teacher salary schedules?
- USOE does not collect teacher salary schedules, but UEA publishes them on their website.
How does Utah compare to the nation regarding educator data?
TOP | NEXT | PREVIOUS
Why is it important for school districts and charter schools to maintain current educator files (in the CACTUS database)?
- CACTUS is the database used to generate educator counts to fund such programs as the Professional Staff Cost Formula, Classroom Supplies and Materials, and Educator Salary Adjustments.
When should school districts and charter schools update their educator files in CACTUS?
- CACTUS files should be regularly maintained and kept up-to-date. Some important dates to remember for funding purposes are November 15 and June 29.
Who do I contact if I have questions about the Teacher Salary Supplement Program (for math and science teachers)?
- The Teacher Salary Supplement Program is run by the Utah Department of Human Resource Management. Contact Mary Christensen at (801) 537-9203 with questions.
Where can I learn more about the Professional Staff Cost Formula?
Where can I learn more about the Classroom Supplies and Materials allocation?
- Board Rule R277-459 gives direction on how the Classroom Supplies and Materials allocation is distributed and should be spent.
Where can I learn more about the Educator Salary Adjustments allocation?
- Board Rule R277-110 gives direction on how the Educator Salary Adjustments allocation is distributed.
How much money do teachers receive for Classroom Supplies and Materials?
- For the 2010-2011 school year, the Legislature allocated the following amounts (source: Senate Bill 2, line 651):
- A teacher on salary schedule steps one through three teaching in grades kindergarten through six or preschool handicapped - $250;
- A teacher on salary schedule steps one through three teaching in grades seven through twelve - $200;
- A teacher on salary schedule step four or higher teaching in grades kindergarten through six or preschool handicapped - $175; and
- A teacher on salary schedule step four or higher teaching in grades seven through twelve - $150.
TOP | NEXT | PREVIOUS
Why does the USOE care about school immunization records when the Utah Department of Health is the regulatory authority for this data?
- Because LEA’s may not receive weighted pupil unit (WPU) money for a student unless the student has obtained a certificate of immunization, or qualifies for conditional enrollment or exemption from immunization.
TOP | NEXT | PREVIOUS
How do I know if a school is eligible to receive additional funding because of its small size?
- A small school may be classified as necessarily existent and receive additional funding when a school district can demonstrate that the school meets the criteria specified in law. Briefly, those criteria are as follows:
- Small Size: Average Daily Membership (ADM) does not exceed the minimum requirement per school type. In addition, at a minimum, one of the following two criteria must also be met (except when consolidation may result in undesirable social, cultural, and economic changes in the community).
- Minimum Travel: if closure of the school would force students to travel more than a specified amount of time, depending on their grade.
- Maximum Consolidation Requirement: the school is in a district that has been consolidated to the maximum extent possible, and district activities in cooperation with neighboring districts within or across county boundaries have been appropriately combined.
TOP | PREVIOUS